The Pain of Discipline

3
Image by lonestar_texas via Flickr

A few weeks ago I wrote about getting up in the morning to study. Needless to say it didn’t last very long. It takes 16-21 days of repeating an activity to make it a habit. Getting up early in the morning is the new habit that I’m trying to form. It is very difficult rolling out of the bed at 4 am in the morning. Look to the right and this is how I feel when I hear the alarm blaring in the morning as my body slowly registers that I need to get up. As painful as it may seem it is very important for me to get up and stay disciplined so that I can reach my goals. Joyce Meyer stated, “I can have the pain of discipline today or the pain of regret tomorrow.” This is my new mantra and I repeat it often. I am studying for the MCAT and have set a new goal of studying for at least 2-3 hours in the morning. My first official day was Friday morning, that morning I got up at 4 a.m. I got fully dressed, sat at the kitchen table and began studying. It is important to get fully dressed because the way you dress often determines how you feel. If you stay in your pajamas it’s going to make it very easy for you to slip back in bed and/or your studying will not be as focused because you are so comfortable.  It became very difficult for me to get any studying done during the day. I have two small children, 15 mos. and almost 3 years old, so it is almost impossible to give my attention to anything other than them. I normally studied at night around 9 pm and stayed up until 12 am however this was not working for me. I am normally exhausted by the end of the day and often found myself rereading paragraphs over and over again because I couldn’t focus on the material. What works for one person isn’t going to work for another person. This is true for non-traditional pre-med students. We have to adjust and readjust often to accomplish our goals. The important thing however, is to not give up.

When and how often do you study?
About DestinedDO

Wife, mommyx4, future doc. #teamfollowJesus
This entry was posted in Pre-Med Realities & Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pain of Discipline

  1. Amira says:

    I like that mantra; I follow a similar one: The price of discipline is always less than the pain of regret.

    And goodness, 4AM is still such a struggle for me too. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

