Realizing my dreams

dreams and wishes. 62/365

dreams and wishes. 62/365 (Photo credit: nicole.pierce.photography ♥)

I have recently embarked on a journey to fulfill my dreams of becoming a doctor. I began a post baccalaureate program in August. I just finished my first trimester. There has been many sleepless nights but I did it. There were a couple of nights where I didn’t ever make it into bed because I was studying. What kept me going was my goal? Anytime, I thought that I had to sleep and couldn’t possibly keep my eyes open another second I visualized my goal. I know that sleep is important but sometimes sacrifices had to be made. Unfortunately, some nights sleep was one of those things. I survived these first set of classes and I am so proud of myself. It has been quite a transition for my entire family. I’ve been a stay at home mom for a little over six years. My youngest two children never attended daycare so the transition was much more difficult for them. The first few weeks of daycare was horrible. My 2 year old son would scream and cry while holding on to my legs because he didn’t want me to leave him. My three year old had the same experience. She just couldn’t understand why I was leaving them. It broke my heart so badly one day that I contemplated leaving my program. I sat in my car crying uncontrollably thinking maybe I wasn’t doing the right thing. I was so close to quitting but I remember how last year and even a few months ago I dreamed of the day when I could return to school. Even though it broke my heart to see them so upset I’ve decided that I can’t give up. I hope that one day they realize that not only am I doing this to realize my dreams but also so that they can see that it’s never to late to fulfill there dreams. As a wife and mother of four people often wonder how I do it but I believe it’s something called grace. I know that it’s only the grace of God getting my family and I through this and I am so thankful. I am blessed beyond measure to have the support from my husband and family to pursue my dreams. It’s never too late to  go for that thing God has placed in you. I don’t know what it is but you know. So I say go for it. If God be for you let know man be against you.

May God Bless You

About DestinedDO

Wife, mommyx4, future doc. #teamfollowJesus
This entry was posted in Pre-Med Realities & Rants, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

